You are here

Summer Band

Summer Band MUS 276 | MUS 450 
7:00 PM - 8:50 pm | Mondays & Wednesdays
141 Harding Band Building
*Does not fulfill major ensemble requirement for music majors. 

The University of Illinois Summer Band meets during the summer session, and performs two "Twilight Concerts" on the Illinois Quadrangle. This tradition spans over a hundred years and is a special element of the Illinois Bands Program and our link to the community. The summer band's repertoire includes standard works for band, entertaining contemporary works, and popular selections from a wide array of musical styles. Membership in the summer band is open to all students, band alumni, and community members with an instrumental background. No audition is required. Those interested in Summer Band should complete the online form below, or contact the University Bands Office at 217-333-3025 or stop by in person to sign-up. Although enrollment in the course is not necessary for participation, it is encouraged. 

Sign Up
Summer Band Registration Form


2017 REHEARSAL | PERFORMANCE SCHEDULE

All rehearsals are from 7:00 - 8:50 PM on Monday and Wednesday evenings. Rehearsals take place in Harding Band Building 141.

CONCERTS

June 29, 7:00 PM
Barry L. Houser, conductor
Will Sugg, graduate conductor
Jason Gardner, graduate conductor
 
July 27, 7:00pm
Jeananne Nichols, conductor
Jason Gardner, graduate conductor
 

REHEARSALS

Wednesday, June 7
Monday, June 12
Wednesday, June 14
Monday, June 19
Wednesday, June 21
Monday, June 26
Wednesday, June 28
Thursday, June 29 CONCERT at the UI QUADRANGLE - report by 6:30 PM
 
Wednesday, July 5
Monday, July 10
Wednesday, July 12
Monday, July 17
Wednesday, July 19
Monday, July 24
Wednesday, July 26
Thursday, July 27 CONCERT at the UI QUADRANGLE - report by 6:30 PM
 
ATTIRE
Attire for concerts is a white top and black bottoms.