You are here

2016 SuperState Recap

Future Dates
May 4-5, 2018 [Deadlines TBD]

Recap of the Illinois SuperState Concert Band Festival 2016

The University of Illinois Bands and the School of Music were proud to present the 2016 Illinois SuperState Concert Band Festival on May 6-7, 2016. The finest middle school, junior high, and senior high school concert bands from the State of Illinois performed on the Foellinger Great Hall stage in the Krannert Center.  Evaluators included Richard Floyd, Mark Fondor, Cynthia Johnston Turner, and John Whitwell. 

Congratulations to our 2016 Illinois SuperState Honor Bands!

These bands will perform at the 2017 Illinois SuperState Concert Band Festival.

Middle School/Junior High School: Wood Oaks Junior High School
Director: Wayne Gordon

Class A High School: Lockport Township High School Freshman Band 
Director: Brian Covey

Class AA High School: Marian Catholic High School
Director: Greg Bimm

Class AAA High School: Wheeling High School
Director: Brian Logan

Class AAAA High School: Lockport Township High School
Director: Brian Covey


And Congratulations to all our 2016 Illinois SuperState Band Participants!

Middle School/Junior High

Field Middle School—Mike Miller, director
Glenn Westlake Middle School—Nick Martin, director
Grayslake Middle School—Steve Thomas, director
Marion Junior High School—Jim Childers, director
O'Fallon District #90 Symphonic Winds—Mark Donahue, director
Thomas Middle School Wind Ensemble—Candace Horton, director
Thompson Junior High—Dan Harrison and Christopher Werve, directors
Troy Middle School Symphonic Band—William Goetz, director
Wood Oaks Junior High School—Wayne Gordon, director
McCracken Middle School—Chip De Stefano, director (2015 HONOR BAND)

Class A High School 

Illiana Christian High School—Patricia Menninga, director
Lockport Township High School Freshman Band—Brian Covey, director
Tri-Valley High School—Dan Marcotte, director
Westmont High School Symphonic Band—Hank Vaughan, director
Monticello High School—Alison Allender, director (2015 HONOR BAND)

Class AA High School 

Bloomington High School—Max Chernick, director
Marian Catholic High School Symphonic Band—Greg Bimm, director
Metamora Township High School—Christopher Render, director
Morton High School Wind Ensemble—Jeff Neavor and Patrick Mainieri, directors
Vernon Hills High School Wind Ensemble—Randy Sundell, director
Tinley Park High School—Vincent Aiello, director (2015 HONOR BAND)

Class AAA High School 

Collinsville High School—Robert Wright and Ryan Stack, directors
Elk Grove High School Symphonic Band—Ron Fiorito, Jr., director
Libertyville High School Wind Ensemble—Adam Gohr, director
Plainfield North High School—Tim Hatcher, director
Rolling Meadows High School—Christopher Buti, director
Victor J. Andrew High School Wind Symphony—Mark Iwinski, director
Wheeling High School Wind Symphony—Brian Logan, director
United Township High School—David Maccabee, director (2015 HONOR BAND)

Class AAAA High School 

Carl Sandburg High School Symphonic Band I—Stewart Bailey and Brian Hillhouse, directors
Downers Grove South High School Wind Ensemble—Craig Roselieb and Greg Hensel, directors
Evanston Township High School Wind Symphony—Matt Bufis, director
Joliet West High School—Eric Wellman, director
Lockport Township High School—Brian Covey, director
Lyons Township High School—Mark Dahl and Paul Meiste, directors
Oswego High School—Stephanie San Roman and Kevin Schoenbach, directors
West Aurora High School—Rod Schueller, director
York Community High School Symphonic Band—Michael Pavlik, director
Naperville North High School—Dan Moore and Don Stinson, directors (2015 HONOR BAND)