You are here

Illinois SuperState Concert Band Festival 2017

SuperState Future Dates:

May 4-5, 2018—Deadlines TBD
2018 Adjudicators

Richard Blatti, emeritus director and professor, The Ohio State University

Prof. Craig Kirchhoff, professor of conducting and director of university bands, University of Minnesota

Dr. Richard Mayne, associate director of bands and professor of music, University of Northern Colorado

Dr. Bruce Moss, director of band activities and professor, Bowling Green State University


May 3-4, 2019—Deadlines TBD

SuperState 2017
Friday-Saturday, May 5-6

2017 Adjudicators

Dr. Rebecca Phillips, director of bands, Colorado State University

Dr. Mike Golemo, director of bands, Iowa State University

Dr. John E. (Jack) Williamson, director of bands, Central Michigan University

Dr. Jamie Nix, director of bands, Columbus State University

Congratulations to the 2017 Illinois SuperState Honor Bands!

Class MS/JH     McCracken Middle SchoolChip De Stefano and David Morrison, directors

Class 1 A          Illiana Christian High SchoolPatricia Menninga, director

Class 2 A          Champaign Central High SchoolJohn Currey, director

Class 3 A          John Hersey High SchoolScott Casagrande, director

Class 4 A         Warren Township High SchoolKurt Gros, director

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Illinois SuperState Participating Ensembles!

Middle School/Junior High

Field Middle School Wind Ensemble—Mike Miller, director
Glenn Westlake Middle School Wildcat Concert Band—Nick Martin, director
Marion Junior High School Wind Ensemble—Jim Childers, director
McCracken Middle School Symphonic Band—Chip De Stefano and David Morrison, directors 
Monticello Middle School Symphonic Band--Amanda Allen, director
O'Fallon District #90 Symphonic Winds—Mark Donahue
, director
Traughber Junior High School Eighth Grade Symphonic Band—Rachel Maxwell and Jessica Shields, directors
Wood Dale Junior High School Symphonic Band—Eric Morong, director
Wood Oaks Junior High School—Wayne Gordon, director (2016 HONOR BAND)

Class A High School 

Illiana Christian High School Wind Ensemble—Patricia Menninga, director
Olympia High School Concert Band—Kyle Brubaker, director
Tri-Valley High School Concert Band—Dan Marcotte, director
Westmont High School Symphonic Band—Hank Vaughan, director
Lockport Township High School Freshman Band—Brian Covey, director (2016 HONOR BAND)

Class AA High School 

Bloomington High School Wind Symphony—Max Chernick, director
Champaign Central High School Wind Symphony—John Currey, director
Lemont High School Symphonic Band—Matthew Doherty, director
Tinley Park High School Symphonic Band—Vincent Aiello, director
Marian Catholic High School Symphonic Band—Greg Bimm, director (2016 HONOR BAND)

Class AAA High School 

Batavia High School Wind Symphony—Chris Owen and Brian Van Kley, director
Glenbrook North High School Symphonic Wind Ensemble—Andrew Zweibel and Richard Chapman, directors
John Hersey High School Symphonic Band—Scott Casagrande, director
Libertyville High School Wind Ensemble—Adam Gohr, director
O'Fallon Township High School Wind Ensemble
—Melissa Gustafson-Hinds, director
Vernon Hills High School Wind Ensemble—Randy Sundell, director
Wheeling High School Wind Symphony—Mike Malek, director (2016 HONOR BAND)

Class AAAA High School 

Evanston Township High School Wind Symphony—Matt Bufis, director
Joliet Central High School Symphonic Band—Don Stinson, director
Joliet West High School Symphonic Band—Eric Wellman, director
Lyons Township High School Wind Ensemble—Mark Dahl and Paul Meiste, directors
Naperville North High School Symphonic Wind Ensemble—Dan Moore and Kirk Hickman, directors
Oswego High School Wind Symphony—Stephanie San Roman and Kevin Schoenbach, directors
Warren Township High School Symphonic Band I—Kurt Gros, director
Waubonsie Valley High School Wind Ensemble—Mark Duker, director
Lockport Township High School—Brian Covey, director (2016 HONOR BAND)